Updates

Features | Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Election Selection

Around the world, Andy Reynolds helps new democracies live up to the name.

by Susan Hardy
Features | Tuesday, May 12, 2015

The Defense Against Flu

Obesity makes influenza more dangerous. But it may also give us clues about how to stop potentially fatal flu earlier.

by Susan Hardy
Features | Thursday, May 7, 2015

Cleaning up Air Quality

A UNC researcher investigates why North Carolina teachers are having trouble breathing—in their own classrooms.

by Ashita Gona
Features | Thursday, April 30, 2015

Beat the Heat

As  summer approaches, Maggie Kovach is finding ways for North Carolinians to avoid getting sick from the sun.

by Ashita Gona
Features | Friday, April 24, 2015

The Family Disease

Cystic fibrosis took five of her siblings at a young age. Now, Wanda O’Neal is part of a team of UNC researchers searching for reasons why.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Plotting a Prisoner's Parole

If you’re sentenced to life in prison, you might eventually be released through parole. But what are the chances a prisoner with a life sentence will actually get parole?  A UNC researcher dug through years of data to find out. 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Monday, March 30, 2015

Tracking the earth's heart beats

A team of researchers uses cutting-edge technology to better predict when and how one of South America’s most active volcanoes will erupt. 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Extreme Cell Makeover

Mini-guts help researchers isolate and track stem cells to improve intestinal health.

by Marla Broadfoot
Features | Friday, March 13, 2015

More Processors, More Problems

Driverless cars were supposed to be right around the corner. What’s the holdup?

by Susan Hardy
Features | Tuesday, March 3, 2015

What's in a Sound?

UNC researchers are making waves—literally—with groundbreaking advancements in sound technology.

by Ashita Gona