Updates

Features | Thursday, February 12, 2015

Sleep for Cells

With new funding, a UNC startup is poised to halt the most devastating effects of chemotherapy. 

by Susan Hardy
Features | Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Kids' Chronic Care

Imagine taking five or ten medications a day—before you even graduate high school. An undergrad researcher helps young adults transition to managing their own care.

by Ashita Gona
Features | Thursday, January 15, 2015

The Bugs in Your Drugs

When it comes to fighting disease, bacteria do it better. 

by Susan Hardy
Features | Monday, January 5, 2015

Can we have our oysters and eat them too?

Undergraduate researchers study whether harvesting oysters helps or hurts coastal ecosystems. 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Friday, December 12, 2014

What’s hiding in our coastal waters?

Marine science researchers at UNC have found that estuaries generate natural defenses against the effects of global warming—until a hurricane hits. 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Wednesday, November 5, 2014

A lifelong scientist finds her calling at UNC

Anna Atencio wasn’t planning to come to Carolina—until she learned about the Chancellor’s Science Scholars Program. 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Wednesday, October 29, 2014

All the Cell’s a Stage

Brian Strahl and his band of biochemists unravel the complicated mysteries of the epigenetic code to find a culprit in cancer development.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Clockworks

Sixteen years after scientists found the genes that control the circadian clock in all cells, the lab of UNC’s Aziz Sancar discovers the mechanisms responsible for keeping our internal clocks in sync.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Just Add Liver

A tale of viruses, stem cells, and global health

by Ginnie Hench
Features | Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Your Brain on Electricity

Something much subtler than ECT could be the new way to treat mental illness.

by Susan Hardy