Updates

Features | Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Grow your own way

UNC researchers are helping Warren County officials find ways to boost local business without sacrificing their rural quality of life. 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Monday, July 21, 2014

The Signal and the Noise

Henrik Dohlman discovered why seemingly identical cells might react differently to the drugs we use to battle diseases.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Thursday, July 10, 2014

Fat of the Bone

Maya Styner shows how a high-fat diet, exercise, and diabetes medications can change the insides of our bones.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Monday, June 30, 2014

The Business of Bugs

Microbes bring agricultural biotechnology to the Triangle.

by Susan Hardy
Features | Thursday, June 26, 2014

It’s the Mucins that Matter

UNC Marsico Lung Institute researchers overturn a controversial study and show how too many mucin proteins in mucus can worsen cystic fibrosis.

by Mark Derewicz
Here’s to Your Health | Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Stop the pain before it starts

UNC researchers have discovered a new target for chronic pain treatment. 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Wednesday, June 18, 2014

The birds and the bees—in text messages

A journalism PhD student helps market a new kind of sex ed.   

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Monday, June 2, 2014

Better than Bulkheads

Where N.C. rivers meet the sea, oysters can protect the land, fish, and human habitat.

by Susan Hardy
Features | Thursday, May 29, 2014

Will Big Science Cure AIDS?

The story of UNC’s decades-long fight against HIV and its implications for the battle against other deadly diseases.

by Marschall Runge
Features | Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Saving Community Journalism

UNC students and faculty help community newspapers in North Carolina and across the country transform their product for the digital age.

by Mary Lide Parker