Updates

Features | Wednesday, November 5, 2014

A lifelong scientist finds her calling at UNC

Anna Atencio wasn’t planning to come to Carolina—until she learned about the Chancellor’s Science Scholars Program. 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Wednesday, October 29, 2014

All the Cell’s a Stage

Brian Strahl and his band of biochemists unravel the complicated mysteries of the epigenetic code to find a culprit in cancer development.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Clockworks

Sixteen years after scientists found the genes that control the circadian clock in all cells, the lab of UNC’s Aziz Sancar discovers the mechanisms responsible for keeping our internal clocks in sync.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Just Add Liver

A tale of viruses, stem cells, and global health

by Ginnie Hench
Features | Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Your Brain on Electricity

Something much subtler than ECT could be the new way to treat mental illness.

by Susan Hardy
Features | Thursday, September 4, 2014

The Two-Photon Future

UNC neuroscientist Spencer Smith creates a new kind of microscope to study the brain like never before.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Tuesday, September 2, 2014

The Root of the Problem

What is food insecurity? And why is it an issue in an agricultural state like North Carolina?

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Grow your own way

UNC researchers are helping Warren County officials find ways to boost local business without sacrificing their rural quality of life. 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Monday, July 21, 2014

The Signal and the Noise

Henrik Dohlman discovered why seemingly identical cells might react differently to the drugs we use to battle diseases.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Thursday, July 10, 2014

Fat of the Bone

Maya Styner shows how a high-fat diet, exercise, and diabetes medications can change the insides of our bones.

by Mark Derewicz