Updates

Features | Thursday, November 19, 2015

Secret Sauce

Triangle Universities Nuclear Laboratory, the only lab of its kind in the Southeast, powers a collaboration among UNC-Chapel Hill, NC State, and Duke for 50 years.

by Alyssa LaFaro
Features | Friday, November 6, 2015

The NCGENE Genies

Navigating the ethical issues and medical uncertainty of genomic sequencing

by Jessica Porter
Features | Thursday, November 5, 2015

Comprehending Chemotaxis

James Bear uncovers the intricate mechanisms that allow certain cells to move.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Tuesday, October 13, 2015

A Nobel Win

The story behind Aziz Sancar’s Nobel Prize for Chemistry win.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Monday, October 5, 2015

Will Work for Water

From New Jersey to North Carolina to Ghana, an undergraduate researcher follows her passion to improve access to clean water.  

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Friday, October 2, 2015

Better Backseat Drivers

The UNC Highway Research Safety Center pushes parents to be a driving force.

by Jessica Porter
Features | Friday, September 18, 2015

Come Hell or High Water

How one UNC researcher aims to limit flood risk through floodplain buyouts. 

by Jessica Porter
Features | Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Sparking IDEAs in the Geosciences

Most young scientists don’t get the opportunity to do field work until college. The UNC Environmental Resources summer program is working to change that. 

by Kamaara Lucas
Features | Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Files for Miles: Body Cams Cause Big Data Problems

Requiring police officers to wear cameras isn’t quite as simple as it sounds. 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Cigarettes: The Big Picture

Will graphic warnings motivate people to quit smoking?

by Kamaara Lucas