Features | Thursday, February 6, 2014

Your Brain on Salt

UNC’s Patrick Giguere uncovers a single sodium ion that regulates how pain medications work in the brain, a key discovery that carries the promise of a better class of drugs.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Radiation Revolution

Designed to kill tumors, microbeams spare surrounding tissue.

by Susan Hardy
Features | Monday, January 6, 2014

Weighing the Evidence

What messages are children’s movies sending about weight?

by Tien Nguyen
Here’s to Your Health | Friday, December 6, 2013

Stress and Breasts

Is there a connection between stress and a mother’s ability to breastfeed her baby? 

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Monday, December 2, 2013

The Power of Plastic

What might make solar technology more affordable? Trading silicon for plastic.

by Susan Hardy
Features | Wednesday, November 27, 2013

A Real Mindbender

Juan Song discovers how baby neurons stay alive, a key finding for understanding neurodegenerative disease.

by Mark Derewicz
Features | Friday, November 22, 2013

I'm With the Brand

Do we know where our favorite brands come from? 

by Mary Lide Parker
Here’s to Your Health | Wednesday, November 6, 2013

The Lung Journey

A new approach to lung transplants could save many more lives.  

by Mary Lide Parker
Features | Wednesday, October 30, 2013

What's Best for the Breast?

Charles Perou’s test can help patients decide on a course of treatment.

by Susan Hardy
Features | Tuesday, October 22, 2013

What We Actually Learn in Kindergarten

How do kindergarten teachers impact the rest of a child’s education?

by Mary Lide Parker